Xi Delta History

In 1947, Col. Walter Parson tried to establish a chapter of Alpha Phi Omega on the Texas A&M campus but was unsuccessful since fraternities were not permitted on campus at that time.  It was not until 1961 that the pursuit of a local chapter was successful. The Dean of Student Life, James P. Hannigan, and a freshman from Midland, TX, James Mayo were able to acquire the charter for the soon to be Xi Delta chapter.  On May 22, 1962, Alpha Phi Omega was officially an organization on the Texas A&M campus.

James Mayo became our first president and the first recipient of our highest honor, the Distinguished Service Key (DSK). Bill Bammel, now a trusted and beloved advisor to our chapter, was the first pledge.  Fifty years later, Xi Delta has grown to have over 300 members. We are a large and prominent chapter that helped to put Alpha Phi Omega in the Guinness Book of World Records by making the world’s largest banana split.  Xi Delta recently hosted the Section 43/44 Co-Sectional Conference in the Spring of 2015, during which current National President John K. Ottenad was in attendance. This was before APO regions/sections changed at the National Convention in 2018, which is why we are in a different region and section now.

Xi Delta is a member of Region D Section D-4, which includes Texas and Southern Arkansas.

A Timeline of Xi Delta